LA Lakers is the 2009 NBA Finals Champion

If you followed the five games of Magic vs Lakers on the 2009 NBA Finals, I am sure you won't be surprised with the result. The Los Angeles Lakers, top-seeded champions of the Western Conference, defeated the Orlando Magic, 3rd seeded champions of the Eastern Conference, four games to one in a best-of-seven series.

Kobe Bryant is the Finals MVP this year. Bryant averaged 32.4 points, 5.6 rebounds and 7.4 assists per game during the series.

The Los Angeles Lakers returned to the Finals for the 30th time in franchise history, an NBA record, and for the second consecutive year, marking the first time that the previous year's runner-up won the NBA Finals

The Los Angeles Lakers held home-court advantage due to their better season record. Games 1 and 2 were held at Staples Center in Los Angeles on June 4 and 7, respectively. Games 3, 4, and 5, were held at Amway Arena in Orlando on June 9, 11, and 14 respectively.

Following the game, NBA Commissioner David Stern presented the Lakers with the Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy and presented Kobe Bryant with the Bill Russell NBA Finals MVP Trophy during a presentation on center-court at Amway Arena.

It was the Lakers 15th NBA title, second only to the 17 NBA championships held by the Boston Celtics.