Palarong Pambansa 2008

The 2008 Palarong Pambansa in the Philippines was officially opened on Sunday, April 20 2008 at the Ramon V. Mitra Complex in Puerto Princesa City. Check out this blog often for more updates and for the official list of Palarong Pambansa 2008 winners and results. The said national sports festival, has its roots in an annual sporting meet of public schools for both elementary and high school students.

Private schools and universities eventually joined the national event, which became known as the Palarong Pambansa in 1976. It serves as a national Olympics for students, with victors from competitions at the school, province, and regional level emerging to participate.

Palarong Pambansa 2008 logo

The traditional Palarong Pambansa 2008 opening rite was done late in the afternoon and the week-long national competition will feature the following sports athletics, badminton, baseball, basketball, chess, football, gymnastics, sepak takraw, softball, swimming, table tennis, taekwondo tennis, volleyball, archery, boxing, and arnis.