Boston Celtics Wins 2008 NBA Finals

2008 NBA Finals Winner Is Boston CelticsThe Boston Celtics won the 2008 NBA Finals held on Tuesday, June 17. Maintaining a lead over 25 points (131-92 blowout) over the Los Angeles Lakers, the Boston Celtics claimed their 17th NBA championship which was the first in 22 years, extending their record for most NBA championships won by a single team.

The Celtics' Big Three - composed of Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce and Ray Allen - performed phenomenally, while the whole team smothered the Lakers offense with their tight defense, which included 18 steals. Garnett and Allen scoring 26 points apiece and Pierce with 17 points and 10 assists. Paul Pierce was named the championship series’ most valuable player (MVP).

Boston Celtics dominated in numerous statistical categories, including rebounds (48–29, with a 14–2 disparity in offensive boards), turnovers (7–19), steals (18–4), assists (33–16) and blocks (4–0).